The Photographer's Message
These resources will help you with finding both background information and images. *NOTE: Sending resources from databases to your Google Drive, copying and pasting articles and their individual URLs from websites into Google Docs (so you can cite them easily using Zoterobib), and organzing all your resources in one folder is a good way to keep organized. *REMEMBER: Google docs allows you to highlight and make annotations using the highlighting tool and "add comment.".
Online Encyclopedia and Databases
Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica High School
Britannica gives full article information, images, and links to "best" websites. (When you send it to you Google Drive, the citation is at the end of the entry.)
Teacher note included.
Gale
Student Resources
Good for biographies of artists. (Citation is in MLA 8 at end of entry.)
Teacher note included.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica Academic
May offer more depth/detail for your artist.
Teacher note included.
Websites
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Search using Magnifying Lens in right corner. (Works of Art, Essays)
Teacher note included.
Museum of Modern Art
Search using the search bar. Click on Works online to view photographs. Other headings may be available with information about the artist and their works.
Teacher note included.
Lens Culture
Search bar is in upper right. Provides information on Photographers, articles about them, as well as their projects and books (not all are available for every artist)
Teacher note included.
International Center of Photography
Use Magnifying Lens to search. ICP is good for viewing and selecting works with descriptions.
Teacher note included.
Masters of Photography
Provides articles, photographs, and resources sections for several of the artists.
Teacher note included.
Getty Museum
Go to Menu at top and magnifying lens to search. Can often link to photos created by your artist.
Teacher note included.
Eastman Museum
By linking to collections and searching in the advanced search box, one can access works.
Teacher note included.
International Photography Hall of Fame
Provides biographical Information on several of the photogrpahers Select: Hall of Fame, Meet the Pioneers (Photographer links will be in ABC order)
Teacher note included.