12th British Literature - Tsang
This subject guide provides links to databases and eBook materials tha twill allow you to effectively survey the literature with regard to your selected author. You will find critical essays and articles based on the main themes in your author's works. *Be sure to search your author, as well as his/her specific works, and remember the power of quotation marks.
Author / Topic Ideas
Ways to find Works by your Author or about your Topic
Library.fyi - Library Catalog and/or SORA on Right
Be sure to write down the title, author and call # before heading to the library to find it - or just take your Chromebook with you.
Teacher note included.
Project Gutenberg: Free ebooks
Avon Free Library
Search for your book title here!
Teacher note included.
Rochester Regional Five Systems (Interlibrary Loan)
Search here if you cannot find anything in our local catalogs above. You must let Mrs. Freeman know the book title and author so that she can request it for you. *Note that it may take a few days to a week to receive it. Submit requests asap!
Teacher note included.
Section 1 - Biographical Essay or Topic Overview
*Remember to save all to your drive in an organized fashion.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica Academic
Gale
Gale Ebooks
Great for AUTHORS and some topics
Teacher note included.
Sooth - Search Engine
Infobase
Bloom's Literary Reference Online
Essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, and critical articles published by noted scholars.
Gale
Gale Databases
*May be helpful if you are not doing an author (e.g. a songwriter or band) *Be sure to select to search all the databases available.
Teacher note included.
Gale
Gale in Context: High School
Full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted website
Section 2 - Literary Analysis Essay
Remember that the databases from part 1 may also help you here!
Google Scholar
*Use this if you are really struggling to find information on your selected writer or if you want to explore something additional! (See tutorial below.)
Teacher note included.
Google Scholar Tutorial
0:00 - Search tips and tricks 9:45 - How to use results 11:56 - How to track results
Teacher note included.
GOOGLE like a PRO
Tip sheet for using Google. Remember that you'll need to use Zbib to get create citations for anything from Google and you should check the credibility of the source before using it.
Teacher note included.
Section 3 - Connection Based Project/Essay
*You may still use any of the above databases, as well.
MLA 8 - How To
Quick Tutorial to help you easily format your paper.