Public databases - hidden web (a sampling)
Government databases, directories and search engines
USA.gov
Access to a wide variety of information and databases from the United States government, state governments, and local governments. This includes access to the Library of Congress, an A-Z government agency index, the Smithsonian, and much, much more.
Teacher note included.
Science.gov
A gateway to government science information and research results. Science.gov is an interagency initiative of 19 U.S. government science organizations within 15 Federal Agencies and provides a search of over 60 scientific databases and is a gateway to over 2200 scientific Websites
Teacher note included.
Digital museums / databases / primary sources
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest physical collection library in the world, with more than 162 million items. The collections include books, sound recordings, motion pictures, photographs, maps, and manuscripts.
Teacher note included.
The Avalon Project
A digital museum / database of primary source digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
Teacher note included.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Teacher note included.
Shapell Collection:
The Shapell Roster is the first-ever comprehensive data archive documenting the Jewish soldiers who served in the American Civil War.
Teacher note included.
Current events & recent history
Newspaper Map - access to today's news around the world
Geographically identified links to newspapers and newspaper websites around the world. (Use Google Translate to read in English!)
Teacher note included.
Internet Archive: Wayback Machine
Database of more than 500 billion pages of archived websites, videos, and other digital content. A time capsule of the last two decades
Teacher note included.