Social Issues Resources
Initial Research
These resources will give many student researchers a solid foundation of background and opinion on many issues. Starting with these resources is strongly recommended. (Scroll to last heading for additional topic selection suggestions if needed.)
Gale
Opposing Viewpoints
Begin your research with articles from the "Reference" tab for background info and the "Viewpoints" section for pros and cons. NOTE: CLICK "Reference", "Viewpoints", etc. for additional items in each category.
Teacher note included.
ProCon.org
Pros and cons of controversial issues. Arguments for and against more than 50 social issue topics.
Teacher note included.
McLennan Guide to Current & Controversial Issues
McLennan Community College directory of resources on selected controversial issues topics
Teacher note included.
More Starting Points AND Deeper Research
Gale
Gale Student Resources
Full-text reference articles, magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, etc, and links to vetted websites compiled specifically for students.
Teacher note included.
Gale
Gale PowerSearch
Includes Student Resources, Opposing Viewpoints, and more. Search encyclopedias, other reference sources, business journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. for all Gale databases provided by NOVEL NY subscription.
Teacher note included.
Just Facts: Resource for Independent Thinkers
Deep factual research on a limited number of critical public policy issues of our time.
Teacher note included.
Sage Publications
CQ Researcher Online
In-depth coverage of topical issues written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Choose most current, most relevant posting and scan headings for specific information
Teacher note included.
Our World in Data
Hundreds of topics from nutrition, to education, economics, lifespan, alcohol use, domestic violence, and more measured over time and across the globe. A great resource to see how our country and our world is changing. Research by topic - Use tabs to jump to specific data. . .
Teacher note included.
News and Public Information Resources
There are many resources available on the internet and in print and on TV that provide us with news, and comment upon or interpretation of the news and current events. Some treat information relatively objectively (without bias) but many sources skew toward left or right.
AllSides Media Bias Chart (Basic / Static)
Consider this Media Bias chart when using popular news sources.
Teacher note included.
Ad Fontes Media Interactive Media Bias Chart
Intense, searchable, navigable resource that plots general bias of many different news and information resources.
Teacher note included.
AllSides - News & Research Website
Don’t be fooled by media bias and fake news. We display the day’s top news stories from the Left, Center and Right of the political spectrum — side-by-side so you can decide the truth for yourself. -- Use search bar to focus on your topic
Teacher note included.
The Week - Newsmagazine and Website
The Week reports and explains issues from all angles, providing news and editorial commentary with a center bias. Ask teacher or librarian to access via WCSDGuest@warsawcsd.org using Google SSO.
Teacher note included.
Lobbyists & Advocacy Groups
By definition these groups support an agenda and promote their views through lobbying, advertising, news, and their websites.
Open Secrets -- Lobbying summary and data
Use tabs on the left to learn more about the volume of lobbying, invested interests, and politicians who profit.
Teacher note included.
Open Secrets Issues Profiles - and the effects of lobbying
Explanations about certain issues and how the effects of olbbying hae contributed to change or lack of change through the years.
Teacher note included.
OpenSecrets : Influence & Lobbying
OpenSecrets's Influence & Lobbying section shows the money trail and more about Washington's influence industry and its most powerful players. Site also focuses on specific issues and elected officials in other tabs.
Teacher note included.
Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
A lobbying organization that claims to be a "coalition of more than 200 organizations fighting to protect, defend, and expand the rights of every single person in the United States."
Teacher note included.
Public Opinion
By nature, public opinion sources are biased and possibly inaccurate. Polls conducted by major companies tend to provide accurate analysis but represent the views of specific cohorts.
Gallup.Com
Gallup.Com provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research. Articles and videos cover news, politics, economy, behavioral economics, wellbeing, world issues, management, and employee engagement.
Teacher note included.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling,
Teacher note included.
I Side With ... Current views on issues
We receive over a million unique answers to our political issues survey per day. Check out the most popular political polls on social, domestic, academic, economic, electoral, criminal, environmental, health care, science, foreign policy, national security, and other issues.
Teacher note included.
Government Actions - Current Laws
FindLaw
To learn about existing laws on the books, FindLaw's 'Learn About the Law' section is a very useful starting point with informational articles about a wide variety of legal topics. Use the directory menu or the "Search FindLaw" box at upper right corner.
Teacher note included.
USA.gov - Commonly Requested U.S. Laws and Regulations
Quick links to info on some of the most commonly requested U.S. laws & regulations.
Teacher note included.
USA Search - USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal; USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. [Search just like Google, using the same type of keywords and narrowing tools you would with Google]
Teacher note included.
Google Scholar - Case Law
Choose "Case Law" under search bar in Google Scholar to search actual U.S. Federal and state laws around the nation.
Teacher note included.
Google Search -- "current laws on ____"
Use Google Google to search current laws on your topic. Remember that Wikipedia may not be used as a source. Also recognize that some information providers will be very biased in reporting. Look for the best quality resources available.
Teacher note included.
Government Actions - Legislative Actions
Congress.gov | Library of Congress
U.S. Congress legislation, Congressional Record debates, Members of Congress, legislative process educational resources presented by the Library of Congress
Teacher note included.
Bills and Resolutions -- GovTrack.us
Private / Non government aligned repository and search for legislation (bills and resolutions) in the U.S. Congress.
Teacher note included.
NYS Assembly | Bills and Legislative Search
Full Text of all New York State Bills since 1999. [Search can only be conducted one legislative year at a time (For all bills in last five years, must conduct five separate searches.) Search by "Bill Number" if you know it, but change to "Keyword" search for all bills on a topic.]
Teacher note included.
State Legislature Websites
Links to legislative information for each of the U.S. states and territories.
Teacher note included.
National Conference of State Legislatures
Provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on state issues. [Use this site to compare laws and policies of multiple states. Use tabs to find in-depth analysis on key topics. Use the Search Bar, and specifically Advanced Search to narrow keyword search results to manageable levels.]
Teacher note included.
The White House | whitehouse.gov
Search for the President's initiatives or orders on many policies. Use the search bar to locate your topic.
Teacher note included.
Topic Selection
Check out resources below for ideas about possible topics. Some resources include guiding questions or reference information on the topics.
Gale
Opposing Viewpoints
List of potential social issue topics with links to facts and arguments about each
Teacher note included.
ProCon.org
Topic List - includes links to reference and opinion describing both sides of each issue
Teacher note included.
Topic List
List of topics sorted by category, (e.g. environment, education, law, etc). Includes sample research questions for some topics.
Teacher note included.
Questia -- Use for topic selection only!
Hundreds of topics sorted by category (e.g. education, law, politics, etc). Click on "Sociology and Anthropology" and then scroll down and click "Social Issues" to limit specifically to topics considered social issues. (NOTE: LINKED RESOURCES ARE NOT AVAILABLE WITHOUT SUBSCRIPTION)
Teacher note included.
Research Organizer / Works Cited
Research Source & Citation Expectations
+ Ensure that all citations are accurate and complete, regardless of how they were created + Format all citations consistently according to the required style + Use in-text citations to clearly connect information in the paper to its source
Teacher note included.
MyBib - Citation Generator -- APA 7
Citation tools are helpful, but they do not replace your responsibility as a researcher.
Teacher note included.
NoodleTools Notecards and Citations
Use this great tool to create, organize, and print Works Cited. Can also be used to organize project notes, create outlines, and more
Teacher note included.