Math & Science
Science
APlusPhysics
Designed to help high school physics students and beginning college physics students succeed, APlusPhysics is a free online physics resource that focuses on problem solving, understanding, and real-world applications.
Teacher note included.
Central New York Land Trust
The Central New York Land Trust seeks to preserve and protect natural areas in order to provide our communities clean water, clean air, wildlife habitat, and a chance to connect with the land.
Teacher note included.
Climate Central
Hosted by a nonprofit organization that combines science and journalism in an effort to inform the public and decision makers about the effects of climate change. Includes news, 4 blogs, an image gallery, and a large multimedia collection that provides state- and local-level climate information.
Teacher note included.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The EPA's environmental topics guides users to the most popular pages within a given environmental topic. This website also provides EPA Articles and News Releases related to popular topics.
Teacher note included.
Flash Animations for Physics
This website has animations written by David M. Harrison, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Toronto to help people visualise a specific topic of Physics.
Teacher note included.
Global Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet (NASA)
NASA hosts this wealth of multimedia resources dedicated to the topic of climate change.
Teacher note included.
NASA Explore Earth
NASA's website for all news, images and videos related to Earth science.
Teacher note included.
National Science Foundation Focus Areas
The U.S. National Science Foundation's focus areas are 15 topics for which they fund research. These include such topics as earth and environment, biology, chemistry, physics, and mathematics, among several more.
Teacher note included.
Periodic Table of Comic Books
The Periodic Table of Comic Books, managed by the Chemistry Department of the University of Kentucky, makes the periodic table fun to understand by having a collection of comic books related to each element. A colorful periodic table feature is presented. If you click on an element, a list of comic books related to that element pops out.
Teacher note included.
USDA Plants Database
Published by the United States Department of Agriculture, this database has images, characteristics, and distribution information for plants in the U.S. and its territories are included in this database. Searching is made easy through a variety of options and includes both scientific and common names.
Teacher note included.
PhET Interactive Simulations
Affiliated to the University of Colorado, PhET is a platform dedicated to the provision of interactive simulations for the learning of STEM subjects. The simulations can be run online or they can be downloaded locally all for free. It has millions of these simulations covering physics, math, earth science, biology, and chemistry.
Teacher note included.
Science Matters
Science Matters is the National Science Foundation's blog, with stories about transforming the world through science.
Teacher note included.
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
This database has information about natural resources and the environment, with news, maps, image databases, and much more. There is a place to post questions about earthquakes, volcanoes, natural resources, forests, and glaciers plus a collection of resources for students and teachers.
Teacher note included.